Mika Ihamuotila appointed as Chairman of the Board of Rovio


The Annual General Meeting of Rovio Entertainment Ltd held on May 30, 2017 appointed Kaj Hed, Camilla Hed-Wilson, Kim Ignatius, Mika Ihamuotila, Jenny Wolfram and Niklas Zennström, as members of the company’s Board of Directors.

In the constitutive meeting of the Board of Directors held after the Annual General Meeting, Mika Ihamuotila (b. 1964), D.Sc. (Econ.), was elected as Chairman. New members of the Board include Kim Ignatius, (b. 1956), M.Sc. (Econ.), and Jenny Wolfram (b. 1990), LL.M.

“I have acted as Rovio’s Chairman since 2008. The company is now in a new growth phase after a challenging period, and I felt that this is a good time to hand over the responsibility to a new Chairman. Mika Ihamuotila has been a member of the Board for four years and knows the company very well. I’m fully confident in his ability to steer Rovio successfully,” says Kaj Hed.

“I am more than excited about my new role as the Chairman of Rovio. I have had the opportunity to build Rovio’s future as a Board member since 2013. Rovio is a great company with strong and profitable growth last year. It is a privilege to take part in writing Rovio’s success story in the future,” says Mika Ihamuotila.

Ihamuotila has acted as a Member of the Board of Rovio since 2013. Ihamuotila also acts as Executive Chairman of Marimekko Corporation and as Member of the Board of Sanoma Corporation. Previously Ihamuotila has acted, among other positions, as the CEO of Sampo Bank Plc and as the CEO of Mandatum Bank Plc.

Kim Ignatius is member of the Executive Management Group of Sanoma Corporation. Ignatius has previously acted, for example, as the CFO of Sanoma Corporation and as the Executive Vice President and CFO of TeliaSonera AB. Ignatius is a Member of the Board of Fortum Corporation.

Wolfram is the CEO and Founder of the startup company BrandBastion Ltd.


For more information, please contact:

Kaisu Karvala, Vice President Communications, mobile +358 40 5715990

Read Also